As action got underway Saturday evening for the highly-anticipated 2022 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Australia Monster Energy Origin Tournament in Newcastle, New South Wales, Team Queensland dazzled inside Newcastle Entertainment Centre. 

Bringing the raucous, capacity crowd to its feet, four-time and reigning PBR Australia Champion and Queensland Captain Aaron Kleier (Clermont, Queensland) covered Hearing Voices (Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls) for 81.5 points.

Following the successful trip, Team Queensland’s momentum continued to mount. As Round 1 continued, the Maroons delivered five additional scores before Team New South Wales registered their first qualified ride.

Michael Smith (Tully, Queensland) rode Bluey (Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls) for 83 points, Jake Curr (Mount Isa, Queensland) conquered Midnight Special (Maynes Bucking Bulls) for 83 points, Andersen bested Night Fury (ST Bucking Bulls) for 84.5 points, Kelsey Pavlou (Toora, Queensland) covered Mac Daddy (Diamond S Bucking Bulls-Brian Scott) for 79.5 points, and Taran Chirgwin (Calliope, Queensland) outlasted Dirty Hombre (Diamond S Bucking Bulls-Brian Scott) for 81.5 points.

Down but not out, Lachlan Slade (Tamworth, New South Wales) righted the ship for Team New South Wales, igniting a comeback which nearly led to the Blues’ first ever event win in the PBR Australia Monster Energy Tour Origin tournament.

Matched up against A Force (ST Bucking Bulls), Slade matched the bovine athlete jump-for-jump, en route to an 83-point score.

Preventing a shutout in Round 1, Team New South Wales entered Round 2 trailing Team Queensland by 410 points.

New South Wales Captain, and 2016 PBR Australia Champion, Cody Heffernan (Singleton, New South Wales) set the tone early for his contingent in the second round. After watching on as rival captain Kleier was bucked off by Kit Carson (Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls) in a swift 1.94 seconds, Heffernan responded with a resounding 86-point ride atop Call Me Joe (Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls).

Compliments of the score, Team Queensland’s lead again shrunk, with Team New South Wales climbing within 324 points.

New South Wales rode a good ride, but Queensland maintained top position throughout the night to take home the title this round.

In the bull pen, Posting Bail (Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls) led the pen. He was marked an event-best 44 points for his 2.71-second buckoff of Caiden Sandilands (Rockhampton, Queensland) in Round 2.

The three-part 2022 PBR Origin tournament continues on Saturday, April 23 in Tamworth, New South Wales. Action for PBR Origin II – Tamworth from the AELEC Arena gets underway at 7:00 p.m. AEDT. Tickets are still available and can be purchased at pbraustralia.com.au.  

The 2022 PBR Australia season will continue April 8-9 for the Monster Energy Tour’s Toowoomba Invitational at Meatstock. Action at the Toowoomba Fairgrounds will get underway at 4:30 p.m. AEDT on Friday, April 8, and at 12:00 p.m. AEDT on Saturday, April 9.

2022 PBR Australia Origin – PBR Origin I – Newcastle
Newcastle Entertainment Centre – Newcastle, New South Wales
(Rides – Outs – Event Aggregate)
1. Team Queensland, 9-24-747.5
2. Team New South Wales, 6-24-505

2022 PBR Australia Origin – PBR Origin I – Newcastle
Newcastle Entertainment Centre – Newcastle, New South Wales
Event Leaders (Round 1- Round 2-Event Aggregate-Australian Points)
1. Qynn Andersen, 84.5-83.5-85-168.00-71 Points.
2. Cody Heffernan, 0-86-87-86.00-55 Points.
3. Lachlan Richardson, 0-84.5-0-84.50-42 Points.
4. Braith Nock, 0-84-0-84.00-29 Points.
5. Jake Curr, 83-0-0-83.00-15.33 Points.
(tie). Michael Smith, 83-0-0-83.00-15.33 Points.
(tie). Lachlan Slade, 83-0-0-83.00-15.33 Points.
8. Aaron Kleier, 81.5-0-86-81.50-6 Points.
(tie). Taran Chirgwin, 81.5-0-0-81.50-6 Points.
10. Will Purcell, 0-80.5-0-80.50-5 Points.
11. Kelsey Pavlou, 79.5-0-0-79.50-2 Points.
Brumby Brandenburg, 0-0-0-0.00
Trefor Sproule, 0-0-0-0.00
Lane Mellers, 0-0-0-0.00
Caiden Sandilands, 0-0-0-0.00
Dan Ruhland, 0-0-0-0.00
Thomas Hudson, 0-0-0-0.00
Oscar Leake, 0-0-0-0.00
Josh Dallas, 0-0-0-0.00
Steven Carter, 0-0-0-0.00

Credit: PBR Australia: Kacie Albert 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.