PBR Global Cup 2022

Ahead of the 2022 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, the PBR today announced the complete five-rider rosters that will represent each of the six teams inside AT&T Stadium as they compete for national pride, the very dirt they ride upon, and the title of “Toughest Nation on Dirt.” Team Australia will be led by 2016 national champion Cody Heffernan (Singleton, New South Wales) and current Australian No. 1 Brady Fielder (Clermont, Queensland).

The fifth edition of the PBR Global Cup, the only nation vs. nation bull riding competition, will make its third stop at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas on March 5, 2022. The team tournament debuted in Edmonton, Alberta, in November 2017, visited Sydney, Australia, in June 2018, and made subsequent stops in Arlington in February 2019 and 2020.

The 2022 PBR Global Cup USA will feature six teams representing Australia, Brasil, Canada, Mexico, and the United States. For their home-nation advantage, the USA delegation will field two squads via the Eagles and all Native American Wolves.

Team Australia: PBR Global Cup 2022

At the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, each team will be comprised of five competing riders, all selected by the nation’s coach.

The one-day event will feature two rounds of competition, where three riders from each team will attempt one bull. Throughout those rounds, every rider from each team must attempt a minimum of one bull. Following the initial rounds, each team will select one rider to attempt the nation’s final bull in the bonus round. The 2022 PBR Global Cup USA Champion will be the team with the top combined score through their seven outs.

Those rosters are:


Brady Fielder (Clermont, Queensland), Ky Hamilton (Mackay, Queensland), Cody Heffernan (Singleton, New South Wales), Callum Miller (Warwick, Queensland), and TBC rider.


Mason Taylor (Maypearl, Texas), Chase Dougherty (Decatur, Texas), Boudreaux Campbell (Crockett, Texas), Stetson Wright (Milford, Utah) and Dalton Kasel (Muleshoe, Texas).


Stetson Lawrence (Chippewa and Sioux – Williston, North Dakota), Keyshawn Whitehorse (Navajo – McCracken Springs, Utah), Cannon Cravens (Cherokee – Porum, Oklahoma), Cody Jesus (Navajo – Window Rock, Arizona) and Dakota Louis (Cheyenne and Blackfeet – Browning, Montana).


Jose Vitor Leme (Ribas do Rio Pardo, MS, Brasil), Joao Ricardo Vieira (Itatinga, SP, Brasil), Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, SP, Brasil), Silvano Alves (Pilar do Sul, SP, Brasil) and Dener Barbosa (Paulo de Faria, SP, Brasil).


Jordan Hansen (Okotoks, Alberta, Canada), Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada), Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada), Jared Parsonage (Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, Canada) and Brock Radford(De Winton, Alberta, Canada).


Alvaro Alvarez Aguilar (La Punta, Lagos de Moreno, Jalisco, Mexico), Edgar Durazo (Moctezuma, Sonora, Mexico), Javier Garcia (Baja, Mexico), Jorge Valdiviezo (La Mision, Mexico) and Francisco Morales (Irapuato, Guanajuato, Mexico).

In late January, PBR announced the coaches who have been tasked with leading each team.

1998 PBR World Champion Troy Dunn (Bloomsbury, Queensland, Australia) was initially selected to return to helm Team Australia, his fourth time in the leadership role.

While Coach Dunn led the selection process for the Team Australia roster, the nation will welcome Eddie Fisher (Mackay, Queensland, Australia) to the coaching staff. He will lead Team Australia inside the home of the NFL’s Dallas Cowboys, architecting the team’s rider vs. bull matchups, due to a conflict preventing Dunn from travelling stateside.

Fisher was a professional competitor for more than 20 years, competing as both a bareback rider and bull rider. In addition to competing on the premier Unleash The Beast in the late 1990s, Fisher is a four-time Australian Professional Rodeo Champion and holds an All-Around and Bull Riding Championship in Canada.

The remaining coaches are: Ross Coleman (Molalla, Oregon) who will lead Team USA Eagles, Ryan Dirteater (Hulbert, Oklahoma) who will coach Team USA Wolves, Robson Palermo (Rio Branco Acre, Brasil) who will helm Team Brasil, Tanner Byrne (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada) who will lead Team Canada, and Gerardo Venegas (Juarez, Mexico) who will pilot Team Mexico.

The 2022 PBR Global Cup USA will mark the first iteration of the event since 2020 when Team Australia rode to a second-place result. Australia has twice finished a team-best second, including in 2018 when they finished a heart-breaking 0.75 points short of defending home soil.

Team Australia headliners Heffernan and Fielder are both two-time selections to the roster.

Heffernan represented Australia in both 2018 and 2019, going 2-for-6, while Fielder rode for his home nation in 2019 and 2020, going 1-for-3.

Miller, who has been a force in PBR Canada competition the past two seasons, is the lone rider on Team Australia making his Global Cup Debut.

Team Australia is the lone contingent yet to field a complete roster. Due to injuries sustained my initial Team Australia members, Dunn will announce the final rider that will compete for the nation in the coming weeks.

Action for the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, gets underway on Saturday, March 5 at 5:45 p.m. CST in Arlington, Texas, at AT&T Stadium.

Adding to the blockbuster weekend, via a landmark partnership between PBR and Teton Ridge, following the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, The American will take over the home of the NFL’s Dallas Cowboys on Sunday, March 6 starting at 12:00 p.m. CST.

The American, the richest single-day rodeo in the world, features competitors in all eight rodeo disciplines: barrel racing, breakaway roping, steer wrestling, team roping (heading and heeling), tie down roping, bareback riding, saddle bronc riding and bull riding. Each qualifier who makes it to the 2022 finals will be eligible for their discipline’s $100,000 prize money and will also have their shot at the bonus millions.

The American and PBR last united for a historic weekend of Western sports at AT&T Stadium in 2018. Throughout the weekend, PBR set a record for the highest-attended, single-day event in its history, hosting more than 46,000 fans inside AT&T Stadium for the elite tour Major.

Tickets for both events are on sale now and can be purchased at ATTStadium.com or SeatGeek.com. Tickets for both events start at just $20, taxes and fees not included. While individual event tickets are available for purchase at varying price levels, fans can save up to 20% by purchasing weekend combo packages to experience both Saturday and Sunday.

For fans wanting to make this one-of-a-kind weekend even more memorable, VIP tickets are available for both the 2022 PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, and The American. Guests can enjoy premium seating closest to the action, question-and-answer presentations, behind-the-scenes-tours and much more. For more information or to purchase VIP tickets and premium experiences, eventgoers can visit SeatGeek.com.

Source: https://www.pbraustralia.com.au/news/press-releases/2022/february/team-australia-riders-announced-ahead-of-2022-pbr-global-cup-usa-on-march-5-in-arlington-texas/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.